About the Board of Health

The Board of Health's Vision is:
"Louisville is a community that provides every person equal opportunity for complete health and well-being."

The Mission of the Board of Health is:
The Board of Health acts as an independent voice to promote and protect equitable physical, mental, and environmental health in the Louisville community through advocacy, education, regulation, and collaboration with public and private entities.

Board members are:
Dr. LaQuandra S. Nesbitt, a board-certified family physician, joined the Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness as director in July of 2011. She is also an Assistant Professor at the University of Louisville School of Public Health and Information Sciences. Statute dictates that the director of health be an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Board of Health

Learn more about Dr. Nesbitt.
William M. Altman, JD was elected Board Chair in July, 2006. Mr. Altman is Senior Vice President of Compliance, Risk Management, and Government Programs for Kindred Health Care.  Mr. Altman is a graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School and is currently also a doctoral candidate in Health Management and Policy at the University of Michigan. He also serves on the boards of the Kentucky Council On Human Relations and the Adath Jeshurun Synagogue.
Karen M. Cost, Ph.D., D(ABMLI) is Chief of Immunology for Norton Healthcare and Clinical Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Louisville School of Medicine.  She is a graduate of The Ohio State University. Dr. Cost is a current member, and former Board Chair, of Metro United Way, and also serves on the Advisory Committee for the Clinical Laboratory Sciences Program at Bellarmine University.  She has served on the Boards of The Center for Women and Families, Bridgehaven, The Family Place and Leadership Louisville Foundation. Karen Cost 125x156 pxx 18kb
Dr. Sherry Babbage is a dentist in private practice at the West Louisville Dental Clinic. She has been named a YMCA Black Achiever and also serves on the Northwest AHEC Board of Directors and on the Louisville Emergency Management Systems and Fire Advisory Board and on the COP Policy Advisory Board.  
Dr. Michael D. Needleman is a Family Practice Physician in the Okolona area.  He is a graduate of the Northwestern School of Medicine.  He is also an Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Family Practice at the University of Louisville.  Dr. Needleman sits on the Admissions Committee of the U of L School of Medicine and serves as the President of Jefferson County Chapter of the Kentucky Academy of Family Practice.  He is also a question writer for the American Board of Family Practice. Dr. Michael D. Needleman MD
Kate Probst, PharmD, BCACP, is a clinical coordinator and board certified ambulatory care pharmacist working for the Walgreen Company. Her territory includes 28 stores in Louisville and Southern Indiana where she is responsible for the training and coordination of pharmacist clinical services. She holds community faculty positions with Sullivan University College of Pharmacy as well as the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy. She serves as a primary preceptor for the community pharmacy residency program co-sponsored by Sullivan University College of Pharmacy and the Walgreen Company.

Dr.Gerald Temes is a retired Thoracic Surgeon after practicing in Louisville for 35 years. He served as a Clinical Professor of Surgery at UL Medical School and is currently a gratis Adjunct Professor of Medical Education. He has held many leadership positions in the Jewish Community and in the Medical Community. He was the founding Chair of the Jewish Hospital Heart and Lung Institute. He is currently serving as Chair of the Jewish Hospital Healthcare Services Board. He is currently serving his second term on the Louisville Metro Board of Health.

  Gerald Temes 125x156px 20kb

Connie L. Sorrell is the Associate Director for Community Outreach at the James Graham Brown Cancer Center and Director of the Kentucky Cancer Program at the University of Louisville. She received her Master of Public Health from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She currently serves on the boards of the Kentucky Breast Cancer Advisory Board, the Kentucky Breast Cancer Research and Education Trust Fund, the Kentucky Colon Cancer Advisory Board, the Kentucky Prostate Cancer Coalition, and the Colon Cancer Prevention Project. She was also on the founding boards for Gilda’s Club Louisville and the Louisville Affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure.

Gabriela Alcalde 
serves as Health Policy Director of the Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky. She has diverse public health experience in the government, nonprofit, academic, and community sectors. She holds a DrPH in Health Administration from the Department of Health Policy and Management, Gillings School of Global Public Health, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; a Master’s in Public Health (M.P.H.) from Boston University; and a Bachelor’s of Arts (B.A.) in Psychology from the University of Louisville. She currently lives in Louisville with her family. Gabriela was born and raised in Lima, Peru and currently lives in Louisville, Kentucky with her family.

Dr. Anthony M. Zipple
is the President and CEO of Seven Counties Services, Inc. He will serve as an ex-officio member of the Board of Health. Prior to coming to Louisville he served as the Chief Executive Officer for Thresholds, a Chicago-based organization that helps people with mental illnesses get decent homes, good jobs, achieve educational success and find optimal levels of physical and mental health. A licensed psychologist, he has authored over 60 articles, book chapters, monographs and books on topics related to community mental health. He serves on the Editorial Boards of Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal and Psychiatric Rehabilitation.