Food Policy Advisory Council Appointees

Mayor Fischer named his appointments to the recently created Food Policy Advisory Council (FPAC). The FPAC will work to identify and propose innovative solutions and policies that create a healthy, vibrant food system and spur economic development.

“It’s important for local entrepreneurs, farmers, community food advocates, faith based organizations, educators and others in the community to work together to create more opportunities for our citizens to access fresh, local food and encourage a robust, sustainable local food economy,” said Mayor Fischer. “I’m confident these 25 individuals represent a broad spectrum of our city and they have the experience, vision, and passion to lead our efforts.”

Seventy-six individuals applied to serve on the FPAC which was created by Executive Order by then Mayor Jerry Abramson in December of last year. The applications were reviewed by a Food Policy Council Development Team and scores were assigned based on the applicant’s knowledge, experience and vision for Louisville’s food system. Careful consideration was made to include representation from across Metro Council districts and occupational sectors as well as diversity in race and gender.

  • Bill Lynch, Chef, Louisville Originals
  • Larry Brandenburg, Farmer/President, Organic Association of Kentucky
  • Mary Berry, President, Smith Berry Winery
  • Ann Coffey, Community Volunteer
  • Stan Siegwald, Policy Director, Dare to Care Food Bank
  • Robin Kaukas, Coordinator – Family Resource Center, Fairdale Elementary School
  • Mike Bramer, Director of Healthy Actions, YMCA and Chair, Food in Neighborhoods Committee, Mayor’s Healthy Hometown Movement
  • Sarah Ludden, Member, Junior League
  • James Neumann, Owner, Valu Market
  • Michael Dean, Neighborhood Coordinator, California Collaborative
  • Dawn Riley, Executive Director, Kentucky Agricultural Council
  • Ellen McGeeney, Manager, Grasshoppers Distribution
  • Jill Costin, Coordinator – Nutrition Services, Jefferson County Public Schools
  • Pat Williamson, Community Advocate, Lamp Ministries
  • Peter Thiong, Agricultural Coordinator, YouthBuild Louisville
  • Dr. Lisa Markowitz, Professor of Anthropology, University of Louisville
  • Lacey McNary, Deputy Director, Kentucky Youth Advocates
  • Cassia Herron, Urban Planner, Founder, Aunties Catering
  • Jennie Jean Davidson, Deputy Director, Making Connections Louisville
  • Joyce Lichenstein, Community Volunteer
  • Gary Heine, Owner, Heine Bros. Coffee
  • SteVon Edwards, designee for Public Health and Wellness
  • Sarah Fritschner, designee for Economic Development
  • Steve Sizemore, designee for Codes and Regulations
  • John Hamilton, designee for Parks

By order, the FPAC will maintain a minimum of 15 members who will meet at least six times a year. They will elect officers and establish work groups which will meet in addition to regularly scheduled meetings. Four of the members must be or represent Metro agency department directors who will serve as voting ex officio members: the directors of Metro Parks, Public Health and Wellness, Codes and Regulations and Economic Development.