Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Mayor Greg Fischer Newsroom

Abramson Announces Merit Board Appointments

Monday May 12, 2003

Mayor Jerry Abramson today announced five appointments to the newly created Louisville Metro Police Merit Board, which is charged with reviewing the police chief’s discipline of officers and oversight for hiring, firing, promotions and demotions.

“These appointments, a diverse group of people racially and geographically, represent another step forward in our efforts to restore public confidence in the police department,” Abramson said in making the appointments. “This provides citizens with a greater voice in disciplinary actions than they’ve had in the past.”

The Merit Board is part of a series of police reforms announced in February by Abramson and Police Chief Robert White. Abramson’s five appointees include three Republicans and two Democrats, two African-Americans and people from throughout the community. The following names were submitted today for approval by the Metro Council:

Linda York Atkins, District 8 Atkins is an attorney with the firm of Atkins & Atkins. She also has worked in the Jefferson County Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office, with another Louisville law firm and the Bank of Louisville. She is a graduate of Spalding University and the University of Louisville School of Law.

Scott Timothy Dickens, District 16 Dickens is a partner with the law firm of Tachau Maddox Hovious & Dickens. Previously, he worked at the firm, Brown Todd & Heyburn. He is a member of Christ Church United Methodist and has volunteered with Habitat for Humanity and the Portland United Methodist Center, among other organizations. Dickens is a graduate of Centre College and the University of Louisville School of Law.

Mark Alan Hampton, District 12 Hampton is a production analyst and operations officer for National City, where he has worked since 1987. He is a member and president of St. James United Church of Christ and has volunteered with the WHAS Crusade for Children. He is a graduate of the University of Louisville.

Carolyn W. Hayes, District 10 Hayes is principal of Rangeland Elementary School, a position she has held since 1990. Hayes has been a member of the Jefferson County Police Merit Board and been involved with the NAACP, PTA and March of Dimes Board of Directors, among other activities. She is a graduate of Western Kentucky University and has her master’s degree and Rank I from the University of Louisville.

David Warren Tandy, District 4 Tandy is managing partner with the law firm of David W. Tandy & Associates. Tandy is an executive board member of the Louisville Chapter of the NAACP and has been involved with the Metro Parks Advisory Commission and the Louisville Urban League Young Professionals Organization. He is a graduate of Vanderbilt University and the University of Kentucky College of Law.

The Louisville Fraternal Order of Police conducted elections recently to name its two members to the Merit Board. They are Detective Robert O’Neil and Officer Tom David. Detective O’Neil joined the city of Louisville Police Department in 1984. He is a Metro Narcotics Detective. Prior to joining the city police department, he was a police officer in Bowling Green. Officer David joined the Jefferson County Police Department 14 years ago. He served three terms on the Jefferson County Police Merit Board and was a trustee for the Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge 14, for four years.

The board was created by legislation adopted earlier this year by the Kentucky General Assembly. The new board will for the first time allow citizens throughout the new Louisville as well as police officers to appeal the Chief’s disciplinary actions. It may subpoena witnesses and compel production of documents. Under law, the Board can only reduce the disciplinary actions taken. It cannot increase the penalties. The board replaces the Jefferson County Police Merit Board and, for police officers, the Louisville Civil Service Board.