Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Mayor Greg Fischer Newsroom

Louisville To Get Federal Aid for Flash Flood Damages

Tuesday August 18, 2009

President Barack Obama has declared Louisville-Jefferson County a federal disaster area due to the Aug. 4 flash flood. This designation means Louisville residents with uninsured or underinsured losses from the recent flash flooding may be eligible for federal aid.

The federal designation will allow homeowners, renters, business owners and non-profit agencies with losses not covered by insurance to apply for federal assistance, said Doug Hamilton, director of the Louisville Emergency Management Agency. These individuals and groups may be eligible for grants of up to $30,000 and low-interest loans.

 -The African American Heritage Center, 1701 W. Muhammad Ali Blvd.

 -South Louisville Community Center, 2911 Taylor Blvd.

Applications for personal assistance can be made at or by calling 1 (800) 621-3362.

These are the guidelines set by FEMA:

1. Residents wishing to apply for assistance must begin the enrollment process by phone or online. Citizens should call 1 (800) 621-3362 or visit ) to begin their personal application process.

2. Residents who show up at the Disaster Recovery Centers without having made prior phone or online contact with FEMA will be directed to the phone banks on site to make the initial call to start their registration.

3. Residents who visit the centers should bring:

a. Identification (driver’s license, social security card, etc.)

b. Proof of residency/address (LG&E bill, mortgage bill, etc.)

c. Insurance policies

d. Information about their damage (photos, cleanup receipts, insurance estimates, etc.) This is optional – a FEMA rep will speak personally with each applicant and documentation of the damage isn’t required, but it is helpful.

4. Who is eligible? That’s decided on a case-by-case basis. Homeowners without insurance, the underinsured, small business owners, renters etc. are all encouraged to register if they have had significant damage. FEMA will make the final call on who is eligible for assistance and at what level.