Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Mayor Greg Fischer Newsroom

Mayor Announces Violence Prevention Work Group

Thursday June 7, 2012

Group to develop plan for Western Louisville,
help rebuild neighborhoods

Mayor Greg Fischer today named a 37-member work group to develop a strategy for reducing violence in Western Louisville and harness community resources into one cohesive, comprehensive approach to help revitalize the area.

The work group includes business, civic, government, religious and neighborhood leaders and will be chaired by Dr. Blaine Hudson, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Louisville. Dr. LaQuandra Nesbitt, director of the Louisville Metro Department of Health and Wellness, will serve as vice-chair.

“The problem of violence in all American cities, including Louisville, didn’t start yesterday and it won’t be solved tomorrow,” Fischer said. “However, I speak for the city in saying that we will not tolerate any situation that leads to people feeling unsecure. This group will examine the problem of violence from all possible angles and develop a long-term, thoughtful strategy.”

The first meeting of the work group will be held 5:30 p.m. June 18 in the Mayor’s Gallery at Louisville Metro Hall. Fischer has asked the group to complete its initial work by October 2012.

Among the first goals will be to develop an inventory of all programs and charities that operate and provide services to youth and young adults in West Louisville to determine what is already being done. After discussion with community leaders it was determined that no comprehensive inventory of programs existed.

All groups operating these activities are being asked to provide information about their program by completing a survey that is on the city’s webpage,

The deadline to submit information to the inventory is June 15th.

Churches, charities, non-profits and businesses that have programs in Western Louisville are urged to fill out the form to ensure that the inventory is comprehensive. Members of the working group will follow up with the organizations at a later date.

The work group members are:

Chair Dr. Blaine Hudson, Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences at the University of Louisville

Vice Chair Dr. LaQuandra Nesbitt, Director of the Department of Public Health and Wellness

Darrell Aniton, Louisville Metro Office of Youth Development

Merv Aubespin, retired Courier-Journal editor and author

Reverend Pedro Basden, Quinn Chapel AME

Col. Kenton Buckner, LMPD

Dr. Kevin Cosby, pastor of St. Stephen’s Church

Bob Cunningham, civil rights leader

Raoul Cunningham, President of Louisville NAACP

Ralph De Chabert, Diversity Director for Brown Forman Corporation and Chair of Ali Center Board

Christopher 2X, community activist

Judge Sean Delahanty, District Court Judge

Waymon Eddings, Chair for the Parkland Community Advisory Board

Judge Brian Edwards, Circuit Court Judge

Tad Hughes, University of Louisville Southern Police Institute

Dana Jackson-Thompson, Executive Director for Network Center for Community Change

Councilman David James, who represents Old Louisville and parts of west Louisville

Rev. Vincent James, Elim Baptist Church, located in the Parkland Neighborhood

Dr. Ricky Jones, University of Louisville, Department of Pan African Studies

Eleanor Jordan, President of the Parkland Neighborhood Improvement Association

James Leavell, Urban League, Reentry Programming

Dr. Renee Mapp, Executive Director for Wesley House Community Services

John Marshall, JCPS Diversity Director

Rhonda Mathis, Community Activist

State Rep. Darryl Owens

Troy Pitcock, Louisville Metro Police Foundation

Neal Robertson, community and neighborhood leader

Christina Shadle, Greater Louisville Inc.

Councilman David Tandy, who represents downtown and parts of west Louisville

Steve Tarver, President and CEO of YMCA Greater Louisville

Sam Watkins, President of Louisville Central Community Centers

Lavel White, Connected Voices youth leader

Richard Whitlock, Getting All People

Jack Will, Executive Director for Jefferson County League of Cities

Aubrey Williams, Sr., attorney

Sylvia Wright, Shawnee Weed & Seed

Dr. Tony Zipple, President & CEO of Seven Counties Services


Kim Allen (Criminal Justice Commission)

Tim Barry (Metro Housing Authority)

Dr. Anneta Arno (Public Health and Wellness)

Michael Gritton (Kentuckiana Works)

Tony Peyton (Director of Policy)

UL Justice Administration

Carolyn Miller-Cooper (Human Relations Commission)

Mike Heitz (Metro Parks)

Anthony Williams (Metro Parks)

Bennett Knox (Metro Parks)