Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Watch Meetings Online
Metro Council Clerk
Budget Information
Louisville Checkbook

Metro Council Newsroom

President King names 2014 Chairs and Vice Chairs of 12 Standing Committees of the Metro Council

Wednesday January 15, 2014

For Immediate Release:
Office of the President
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622
               Stephen Haag 574-1204 / 645-1752

Louisville – Metro Council President Jim King (D-10) has announced the appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs for the Metro Council’s Standing Committees and Ad Hoc Committees for 2014.

“My thanks to those who have agreed to serve in these leadership positions,” said King. “Our committees have an important role in reviewing issues and legislation that help move Metro Louisville forward. The leaders of these committees have the experience and dedication necessary to ensure good legislation is enacted by the Council.”

Here are the Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs for 2014:

Standing Committees:


Chair, Robin Engel (R-22), Vice Chair, Cindi Fowler (D-14)


Chair, Rick Blackwell (D-12), Vice Chair, Robin Engel (R-22)


Chair, Marianne Butler (D-15), Vice Chair, Kelly Downard (R-16)

Community Affairs

Chair, Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Vice Chair, Stuart Benson (R-20)


Chair, Jerry Miller (R-19), Vice Chair, Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5)

Government Accountability & Ethics

Chair, Tina Ward-Pugh (D-9), Vice Chair, Jerry Miller (R-19)

Health, Education and Housing

Chair, Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), Vice Chair Marilyn Parker (R-18)

Labor/Economic Development

Chair, David Tandy (D-4), Vice Chair, Stuart Benson (R-20)

Planning, Zoning, & Land Development

Chair Madonna Flood (D-24), Vice Chair, Glen Stuckel (D-17)

Public Safety

Chair, James Peden (R-23), Vice Chair, David Yates (D-25)

Public Works, Bridges & Transportation

Chair, Dan Johnson (D-21), Vice Chair, Jerry Miller (R-19)


Chair, Tom Owen (D-8), Vice Chair, Glen Stuckel (R-17)

Ad Hoc Committees:

Vacant /Neglected Properties

Chair, Attica Scott (D-1) Vice Chair, Kelly Downard (R-16)

Land Development Code

Chair, James Peden (R-23), Vice Chair, Brent Ackerson (D-26)


Chair, David Yates (D-25), Vice Chair, Ken Fleming (R-7)

President King has indicated the three Ad Hoc Committees will be phased out over the next several months as their work draws to a close and three new Council work groups will be established to address Affordable Housing , Annexation and LIFT.

Affordable Housing will be chaired by Councilwoman Scott, Annexation will be chaired by Councilman Downard and President King will announce Co-Chairs for LIFT when they are determined.

Jim King (D) 10