Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom 

City to Host Cardinal Celebration

Wednesday January 17, 2007

Friday rally at Fourth Street Live to toast Orange Bowl Champs

Mayor proclaims ‘Wear Red for Champions’ Day

Louisville Mayor Jerry Abramson invites citizens to join him Friday, Jan. 19, at Fourth Street Live to celebrate the University of Louisville Cardinals’ recent Orange Bowl victory.

The event is free and open to the public and begins at 4:30 p.m. Louisville Metro Government, Greater Louisville Inc., and Fourth Street Live! are co-sponsoring the celebration that will include the Cardinal players, cheerleaders, band and coaches.

“Our Cardinals represented Louisville tremendously both at the Orange Bowl and throughout their incredible season,” Abramson said. “Friday is Louisville’s chance to say thanks and to celebrate the team’s success.”

The Cardinal team will enter the event through the crowd, similar to the traditional “Card March” before every game at Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium. The Orange Bowl trophy and quarterback Brian Brohm’s MVP trophy will be on display, and the mayor will unveil a new street sign commemorating the team. University President James Ramsey and Athletic Director Tom Jurich also will participate.

Abramson also proclaimed Friday “Wear Red for Champions Day,” and after the rally Fourth Street Live’s street-level restaurants will offer guests wearing red a 15 percent discount for regularly priced food items. In addition, Cardinal cheerleaders will toss giveaways – including t-shirts and miniature footballs – to the crowd.

Fourth Street Live is located downtown on 4th St. between Muhammad Ali Blvd. and Liberty St. Parking options include the Fourth Street Live garage (425 S. 5th St.), the Seelbach Garage (523 S. 5th St.) and the Gardens Garage (415 S. 6th St.), metered street spaces and nearby privately operated garages and lots. Fourth Street Live also is accessible via TARC routes. For more information call MetroCall 311 or visit



Orange Bowl Trophy