Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Louisville Metro Council members sponsor resolution in support of suburban cities, fire protection districts

Monday May 17, 2004

For Immediate Release
For Information

Jennifer F. Brislin

Patrick H. Neely

25 Twenty-five members of the Louisville Metro Council filed a resolution this week in support of suburban cities and fire protection districts. The resolution has been sent to the Government Administration Committee, which meets at 4 p.m. today.

The resolution expresses support for suburban cities and fire protection districts because “suburban cities and fire protection districts are efficient providers of supplemental services; suburban cities and fire protection districts provide quality and cost-effective services to a significant portion of residents of Louisville Metro; those services are a complement to the ones provided by Louisville Metro and serve a valuable role to the citizens they serve as well as positively impacting the entire community; and one of the promises of merger was to allow suburban cities to continue to exist.”

The sponsors are: Denise Bentley, D-1; Barbara Shanklin, D-2; Mary Woolridge; D-3; Willie Bright, D-4; Cheri Bryant Hamilton, D-5; George Unseld, D-6; Ken Fleming, R-7; Tom Owen, D-8; Tina Ward-Pugh, D-9; Kevin Kramer, R-11; Rick Blackwell, D-12; Ron Weston, D-13; Bob Henderson, D-14; George Melton, D-15; Kelly Downard, R-16; Glen E. Stuckel, R-17; Julie Raque Adams, R-18; Hal Heiner, R-19; Stuart Benson, R-20; Dan Johnson, D-21; Robin Engel, R-22; James H. Peden, R-23; Madonna Flood, D-24; Doug Hawkins, R-25; and Ellen Call, R-26.

  • Julie Raque Adams (R) 18
  • Stuart Benson (R) 20
  • Denise Bentley (D) 1
  • Rick Blackwell (D) 12
  • Willie Bright (D) 4
  • Ellen Call (R) 26
  • Kelly Downard (R) 16
  • Robin Engel (R) 22
  • Kenneth C. Fleming (R) 7
  • Madonna Flood (D) 24
  • Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5
  • Doug Hawkins (R) 25
  • Hal Heiner (R) 19
  • Robert Henderson (D) 14
  • Dan Johnson (D) 21
  • Kevin Kramer (R) 11
  • George Melton (D) 15
  • Tom Owen (D) 8
  • James Peden (R) 23
  • Barbara Shanklin (D) 2
  • Glen Stuckel (R) 17
  • George Unseld (D) 6
  • Tina Ward-Pugh (D) 9
  • Ron Weston (D) 13
  • Mary C. Woolridge (D) 3