Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

“Cars 2” is next Free Summer Movie on Friday, August 10th at Iroquois Amphitheater

Tuesday August 7, 2012

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622
                Stephen Haag 574-1204/ 645-1752

Louisville – Lighting McQueen, Tow Mater and friends are all part of international intrigue and fun when “Cars 2” comes to the Iroquois Amphitheatre for the next Free Summer Movie on Friday, August 10th.

“We will be kicking off a weekend of fun at the Amphitheater with a great movie for all ages on Friday night,” says Councilwoman Marianne Butler (D-15). “This month’s Free Summer Film is being held on Friday night instead of its usual Saturday because of the growing popularity of events at Iroquois Amphitheatre.”

The 2011Pixar Disney film follows McQueen and the gang from Radiator Springs overseas to compete in the World Grand Prix. It begins at 8:30pm and is free to the public thanks to funding by several members of the Louisville Metro Council.

The Free Summer Movie is being held on Friday night to accommodate the Brandi Carlisle concert at the Amphitheatre on Saturday.

Joining Butler as sponsors this year are Dan Johnson (D-21), ), Rick Blackwell (D-12), Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), David James (D-6), Jim King (D-10), Bob Henderson (D-14), Kelly Downard (R-16), Jon Ackerson (R-18) Robin Engel (R-22), David Yates (D-25) and Brent Ackerson (D-26).

“This has been another great year for outdoor movies!” says Butler. “Come watch a fun, action packed movie with the children before school starts.”

Here is the schedule of for the last Free Summer Movies in 2012:


Sat. Sept 8 Zookeeper PG

Concessions will be available.

The Iroquois Amphitheater is located at 1080 Amphitheater Road, off New Cut Road. To learn more about events at the Iroquois Amphitheater go to:

Marianne Butler (D) 15
Dan Johnson (D) 21
Rick Blackwell (D) 12
Vicki Aubrey Welch (D) 13
Bob Henderson (D) 14
Mary C. Woolridge (D) 3
David James (D) 6
Jim King (D) 10
Kelly Downard (R) 16
Jon Ackerson (R) 18
Robin Engel (R) 22
David Yates (D) 25
Brent Ackerson (D) 26