Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Councilwoman Ward-Pugh elected chair of Democratic Caucus; Blackwell named vice chair

Thursday January 13, 2005

Media Release
For Immediate Release

For Information Contact:
Jennifer F. Brislin

Patrick H. Neely

Ninth District Councilwoman Tina Ward-Pugh was elected chairwoman and 12th District Councilman Rick Blackwell was elected vice chairman of the Democratic Caucus Thursday.

Ward-Pugh replaces Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin, D-2, who won the seat of Louisville Metro Council President Tuesday morning.

"I'm honored by the support my colleagues have shown by electing me," Councilwoman Ward-Pugh said. "I look forward to working with Vice Chairman Blackwell and other members of the caucus to build on the unity we've forged these past few months. I also pledge to continue working with President Shanklin, Mayor Abramson and the Republican Caucus to move our city forward."

Blackwell replaces outgoing vice chairman Tom Owen, D-8, who did not seek the seat.


Rick Blackwell (D)  12
Tina Ward-Pugh (D)  9