Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Councilman Jim King reelected Louisville Metro Council President for 2012

Monday January 9, 2012

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622
               Stephen Haag 574-1204/645-1752

Councilman Jim King (D-10) was reelected President of the Louisville Metro Council during its first meeting of 2012 on Monday, January 9th.

“I want to thank the members of this Council for their support. I am proud to say we are entering our tenth year as a Metro Government and as a Council and we have clearly matured as an institution. We have learned to work together to make our city all it can be,” said King. “I’m grateful for the cooperative bi partisan nature of that process. Frankly, most of what we accomplished this past year was done without any partisanship whatsoever.”

King becomes the first person in the history of the Metro Council to be elected to successive terms of office. He was first elected President in 2008.

Prior to that, he served two years as Majority Leader of the Democratic Caucus. In 2009 and 2010, he was Chairman of the Council’s Budget Committee. King was elected to the Metro Council in 2004.

In his remarks to the Metro Council, the President cited job creation and economic development as key goals for the coming year. He also laid out his top priorities for the Council in the next twelve months.

“2012 has the potential to be our finest year ever with your help I hope to update our committee structure to address challenges that affect our entire community,” said King. “I hope to create a committee on sustainability and create a standing committee on appointments to allow us to focus on geographic and socio-economic diversity on our boards and commissions.”

The President also told the Council two new ad-hoc committees would be created.

“One to study and revise our Land Development Code and one to study and suggest solutions to the vacant property problem that plagues much of our community,” he said.

The Council also reelected Kathleen Herron as Metro Council Clerk by a unanimous vote. She has held that position since the first Metro Council went into operation in 2003. Stephen Ott was elected Deputy Clerk also by unanimous vote.

“This past decade, with your help, we created a new city. As we begin our next decade, I look forward to working with each of you to create an even better city that realizes the promise of merger and allows our citizens to reach their collective and individual potential,” said the new President.

Jim King (D) 10