Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

20th Annual Floyds Fork Creek Sweep Scheduled for June 4th

Wednesday May 18, 2011

Louisville Metro Council
Media Advisory
Contact: Stephen Haag, Jr.
(502) 574-1204

Louisville, KY - Louisville Metro Councilmen Stuart Benson (District 20), Robin Engel (District 22) and Jerry Miller (District 19) will participate in the upcoming 20th Annual Floyds Fork Creek Sweep, and they are encouraging volunteers to join them in helping the Floyds Fork Environmental Association with their efforts to remove debris and improve one of this community’s largest parks and waterway.

The 20th Annual Floyds Fork Creek Sweep will be held on Saturday, June 4, 2011 between 8:30 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. Persons interested in participating are encouraged to call 267-6883 or e-mail at The cleanup will take place along the Floyds Fork waterway through the use of canoes and on the land adjacent to the creek.

Anyone able to bring their own canoe, kayaks or lifejackets are asked to  please do so. The 20th Annual Floyds Fork Creek Sweep is sponsored by the Floyds Fork Environmental Association, Councilmen Stuart Benson and Robin Engel, the Louisville Metro Department of Solid Waste Management, Canoe Kentucky and the Jefferson County Conservation District.

Event Schedule
8:30am             Registration and free light breakfast
8:45am             Mayor Greg Fischer arrives
9:00am             Mayor Fischer, Councilman Stuart Benson, Robin Engel & Jerry Miller make Announcements: Assignment of clean up areas
9:30am             Transport to canoe launch sites
Noon – 1pm     You arrive at take out point.  Volunteers are transported back to Floyds Fork Park Outdoor Shelter for a free picnic lunch. 

*Directions: Floyds Fork Park is located at 4002 S. Pope Lick Road. If headed toward Fisherville on Taylorsville Road, turn RIGHT onto South Pope Lick Road off Taylorsville Road. Follow the signs, go over the bridge and meet at the shelter in Floyds Fork Park.

Jerry Miller (R) 19
Stuart Benson (R) 20
Robin Engel (R) 22