Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Councilwomen Madonna Flood and Barbara Shanklin re-elected Majority Caucus Leaders in 2012

Monday January 9, 2012

For Immediate Release:
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

By a unanimous vote, Councilwoman Madonna Flood (D- 24) was re-elected by members of the Democratic Caucus to serve as Majority Leader and Caucus Chair for 2012. Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D-2) was re-elected as Vice-Chairman of the Caucus.

“I want to thank the members of the Caucus for allowing me to continue as Majority Leader,” said Flood. “I am looking forward to working with our membership for the good of all areas of Metro Louisville.”

Flood is serving an unprecedented third term as Majority Leader. She is a founding member of the Metro Council representing the Okolona Area of District 24 in 2002. She was re-elected to a four year term in 2004 and 2008.

“The Majority Leader and I have worked well together in the past year and I look forward to continuing that working relationship in the year to come,” said Shanklin. “As we look to the year ahead, there are challenges to face and we are ready to do what needs to be done.”

Shanklin has previously held leadership positions in the Caucus. She served as Majority Leader in 2004 and was elected Council President in 2005. Shanklin represents the Newburg and Norfolk areas and is also a founding member of the Metro Council. She was re-elected to a four year term in 2004 and 2008.

Both Flood and Shanklin were selected by the Majority Caucus in its first meeting of the year.

Madonna Flood (D) 24
Barbara Shanklin (D) 2