Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Tandy & Heiner Propose Resolution Approving Loan for Acquisition of HQ for Habitat for Humanity

Wednesday March 3, 2010

Louisville Metro Council
Media Advisory
STEPHEN HAAG, JR     574-1204 / 645-1752
TONY HYATT   574-4137 / 526-3622

Louisville, KY – Metro Councilman David Tandy (District 4) and Hal Heiner (District 19) have proposed a resolution authorizing a forgivable loan for the development of a headquarters for both Habitat for Humanity and Youthbuild of Louisville. The loan of $750,000 each, has been made available through a United States Department of Housing and Urban Development Stabilization Program Grant and funds set aside as a result of the 2009    Oversight Ordinance passed by the Metro Council, requiring excess funds be set aside for future worthy projects.

“Habitat for Humanity and Youthbuild are agencies that have had and will continue to have an immeasurable impact on our community. These organizations have developed an outstanding partnership and leveraged resources by working together with citizens, businesses and governmental entities, to improve our neighborhoods, one front porch at a time. I am proud to partner with them, so that together, we will reach our full potential as a community.” – Councilman David Tandy

“Groups like Habitat and Youthbuild are essential to restoring pride in neighborhoods and helping people gain stability through employment and home ownership. Both Habitat and Youthbuild will be better able to achieve their missions by moving out of rented space and into a rehabilitated permanent home. As a result, more homes will be rehabilitated, more young adults will have job opportunities and more families will have a place to call home.” - Councilman Hal Heiner

A copy of the resolution is attached. Representatives from Youthbuild and Habitat for Humanity will be present at the 3:00 p.m. Thursday, March 4, 2010 meeting of the Louisville Metro Council’s Labor and Economic Development Committee.

David Tandy (D) 4
Hal Heiner (R) 19