Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Local photographers to be honored with Molly Leonard awards on Saturday, September 11th

Wednesday September 8, 2010

For Immediate Release:
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

It is an adage which still has significant meaning in the 21st Century: a picture says a thousand words. Those who have been able to capture snapshots of Louisville’s history and culture will be honored on Saturday, September 11th during the District 5 Community Celebration.

“We have seen many examples of their work and yet many times they go unnoticed by the public,” says Councilwoman Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5). “That is why this year’s Molly Leonard Award goes to local photographers and videographers who have captured social, civic and historical change for many years.”

Among those to be recognized are Bud Dorsey, Eddie Davis, Keith Williams James Bennett, Clinton Bennett, Aukram Burton, William Hamilton, Sheri H. Carbone, Jack Norris, Bill Luster, Sam Upshaw Jr., Joe Goodwin, George Williams, Willie Baylor, Craig Olmstead, Brittany Penny, James Penny, Leonard Boulware, Mikal Forbush, Dez Thompkins, Ron Burgis and in memoriam Jay Thomas and Tim Crabtree will also be recognized.

There will also be a display of the honorees favorite work during the Community Celebration.

“I hope everyone will take the time to see these great works and understand that through these gifted artists we are able to look back at our history and understand the emotions and moments of changing times,” says Hamilton.

The District 5 Community Celebration will get underway at 11:00am in Shawnee Park. The Celebration will feature music and fun. This year’s headlining guest artist is Tito Puente, Jr. and The Orchestra. The variety of music includes hip hop and spoken word, R&B, gospel and Latin Jazz.

For more information about the District 5 Community Celebration, contact Councilwoman Hamilton’s office at 574-1105.

Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5