Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Council members and Mayor Fischer to unveil new design for Southwest Regional Library

Friday February 1, 2013

For Immediate Release:
Democratic Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622

Louisville – Residents of Southwest Louisville will get a first look at the design of the Louisville Free Public Library’s newest regional library at a special meeting on Monday, February 4th.

“This is a chance for everyone to visualize what this state of the art facility will look like as the library moves into the next phase of this project,” says Councilman David Yates (D-25). “It’s a chance to ask questions and get updated on the new library’s progress.”

Yates and Council members Rick Blackwell (D-12), Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13) and Cindi Fowler (D-14) will join Mayor Greg Fischer and Library Director Craig Buthod for the meeting at the current Southwest Branch.

“This regional library is a top priority for many of us on the Council,” says Blackwell. “This meeting is the next step in moving toward the day when the library is open and serving the community.”

The Mayor and Council members will present to the public the Design Team in charge of putting to paper many of the ideas that have been suggested for the new regional branch.

“Libraries have a positive impact on any area of the city, we know that first hand as the Fairdale Library approaches its first year of operation” says Welch. “The Council is a strong advocate for expanding our library system.”

The new regional library will be built in District 25. The meeting will start at 6:00pm at the current Southwest Library, 10375 Dixie Highway located in District 14.

“This new library is long overdue for the people of our area,” says Fowler. “I want to encourage everyone in the Southwest to come out and join us. This is an important project and needs our support.”

For more information about the meeting , contact Councilman Yates office at 574-1125 or the Southwest Library at 933- 0029.

David Yates (D) 25
Rick Blackwell (D) 12
Vicki Aubrey Welch (D) 13
Cindi Fowler (D) 14