Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Metro Council President Rick Blackwell announces Committee Chairs and Vice-Chairs for 2007

Friday January 12, 2007

Louisville Metro Council
For More Information Contact:
Steve Haag: 574-1204/ 645-1752 (Cell)
Tony Hyatt: 574-4137/ 526-3622 (Cell)
For Immediate release:

Louisville –On Friday January 12th, President Rick Blackwell (D) 12 announced who will be Chair and Vice-Chair of the eleven committees of the Louisville Metro Council.

“We are fortunate to have experienced people who can help move this city forward,” said Blackwell. “I believe this bipartisan team is as good as it gets.”

Blackwell, along with Majority Leader Jim King (D) 10 and Minority Leader Robin Engel (R) 22, reviewed the Council’s Committee structure and the make up of leaders and members.

“I would like to commend President Blackwell on his efforts to reach across the aisle and work with both parties to create committee leadership that truly represents the Louisville Metro Area”, said Engel.

There are no restructuring changes for the committees in 2007. Labor has been added to the title of Jobs & Economic Development.

“We have a busy year ahead,” said King. “I think you will again see the Council rising to the challenge as many of us work to move this city forward.”

The Government Administration, Rules, Ethics & Audit will have a busy role in the year ahead. The Committee will be charged with a review of the remaining laws that could sunset by year’s end. Councilman Kelly Downard (R) 16 will chair the committee. Councilwoman “While the primary responsibility for reviewing the sunset laws rests on Government Administration, all of the Chairs need to be diligent in moving legislation“ says Blackwell.

When the Metro Government was formed in January 2003, the Metro Council was charged with review all laws of the old City of Louisville and Jefferson County Fiscal Count. In a five year period, the Council was charged with re-enacting the old laws. If not those laws would fall off the books by January of 2008.

A list of the 2007 Metro Council Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs is attached.

Rick Blackwell (D) 12