Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

“Christmas Story 2” wraps up successful season of “Movies Under the Stars” at the Iroquois Amphitheater

Monday September 9, 2013

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622
                Stephen Haag 574-1204 / 645-1752

Louisville – Ralphie, Flick, Schwartz and the Old Man are back when “Christmas Story2” concludes the 2013 season of Movies Under the Stars concludes at the Iroquois Amphitheater on Sunday, September 15th.

“The Iroquois Amphitheater has had a great year as it celebrates its 75th Anniversary,” says Councilwoman Marianne Butler (D-15). “There have been record attendance numbers for all of the events this year and the free movies have helped bring back patrons to other events this summer.”
The 2012 Warner Brothers “Christmas Story 2” is the sequel to 1983’s Christmas Story. Set five years later, Ralphie now has his eye on a car instead of a Red Ryder BB Gun. But there are problems that need to be taken care of with that car before the Old Man finds out.

The movie is free and begins at 8:30pm. The concession stand is open for the movie.

“This year, the Metro Council helped sponsor a series of free events to highlight the Amphitheater’s celebration,” says Butler. “Indications are the community has rediscovered this great facility and we expect there to be many more successful years ahead.”

The Council approved $22,750 in Neighborhood Development Funds in March for free community events at Iroquois Amphitheater.

Joining Butler as sponsor are Council members Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Dan Johnson (D-21) David Yates (D-25), Rick Blackwell (D-12), Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), David James (D-6), Tina Ward-Pugh (D-9), Cindi Fowler (D- 14), Kelly Downard (R- 16), Robin Engel (R-22), Stuart Benson (R-20), Brent Ackerson (D-26), Tom Owen (D-8) Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), Jim King (D-10) and Attica Scott (D-1).

The public is invited to come out to the Amphitheater’s 75th Anniversary party on Sunday, September 22nd. It is a free event beginning at 5:00pm.

For more information about the Iroquois Amphitheater, go to

Marianne Butler (D) 15
Dan Johnson (D) 21
Mary C. Woolridge (D) 3
David James (D) 6
Jim King (D) 10
Rick Blackwell (D) 12
Vicki Aubrey Welch (D) 13
Cindi Fowler (D) 14
David Yates (D) 25
Kelly Downard (R)
Stuart benson (R) 20
Robin Engel (R) 22
Attica Scott (D) 1
Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5
Tina Ward-Pugh (D) 9
Tom Owen (D) 8
Brent Ackerson (D) 26