Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Democrats Judith Green and Marianne Butler join 12 others in taking the oath of office for Metro Council

Friday December 29, 2006

Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
For More Information Contact:
Tony Hyatt: 574-4137/ 526-3622
For Immediate release:

Louisville – In a swearing in ceremony, 14 members of the Louisville Metro Council took the oath office Thursday afternoon to begin a new year under merged government.

Following the November general election, two new Democratic were elected to the Metro Council: Dr. Judith Green representing District 1 and Marianne Butler for District 15.

“It is an honor to be among those who have helped this merged government get off the ground,” said Dr. Green. “I am ready to begin working for the people of District 1 and doing what I can to move our city forward.”

“The people of District 15 have been an inspiration to me and I am ready to help them,” says Butler. “All of us know how important public service is and for me this is fulfilling a lifelong dream.”

The oath of office was administered by Kentucky Supreme Court Justice William McAnulty of Louisville. Also taking the oath of office, Mary C. Woolridge (D) 3, David Tandy (D) 4, Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5, Ken Fleming (R) 7, Tina Ward-Pugh (D), Kevin Kramer (R) 11, Vicki Welch (D) 13,Glen Stuckel (R) 17, Hal Heiner (R) 19, Dan Johnson (D) 21, James Peden (R) 23 and Doug Hawkins (R) 25.

All will serve four year terms except Tandy who is finishing out the unexpired term of the late Willie Bright. Under state law, elections for the Metro Council are staggered so only 13 members are on the ballot in a two year election cycle. In 2008, even number council seats will be up for election.

“I am looking forward to my first full four year term,” says Councilwoman Vicki Welch (D) 13. “I have enjoyed these first nine months but I look forward to finishing many of the projects I have begun for the District.”

Welch filled the unexpired term of Ron Weston in March.

The swearing in ceremony is also significant because it celebrated the fourth year of merged government in Metro Louisville.

“It has been great for those of us in Southwest Jefferson County, I would say A plus,” said Councilman Bob Henderson (D) 14. “We have received more representation under merger than we ever have, many of my folks can tell it.

The Metro Council has set it first meeting in 2007 for January 4th.

“We have had a great year of accomplishment for the city,” says Majority Leader Jim King (D) 10. “The arena is moving forward, a better smoking ban is in place. We have improved public safety with a new animal control ordinance. It is my hope we can continue this positive momentum going into the New Year.”

Judith Green (D) 1
Mary C. Woolridge (D) 3
David Tandy (D) 4
Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5
Ken Fleming (R) 7
Tina Ward-Pugh (D) 9
Kevin Kramer (R) 11
Vicki Welch (D) 13
Marianne Butler (D) 15
Glen Stuckel (R) 17
Hal Heiner (R) 19
Dan Johnson (D) 21
James Peden (R) 23
Doug Hawkins (R) 25