Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Sixteen applicants will be reviewed for District 1 vacancy

Wednesday September 28, 2011

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622
                 Stephen Haag 574-1204/645-1752

The Metro Council will review sixteen applications to fill the vacant District 1 Council seat. The deadline for applications has passed with the close of business on Wednesday, September 28th.

“I commend those who are interested in serving the people of District 1,” says Metro Council President Jim King (D-10). “Public service is a great and rewarding responsibility and these applicants are offering themselves as a way to make a difference in Metro Louisville.”

Here are the applicants for District 1:

§ Ray A Barker Sr.

§ Attica Woodson Scott

§ Janis Carter Miller

§ Alan D. Benson

§ Eric Irvin Sr.

§ Rosa G. Macklin

§ Edna L. Harris

§ Courtney L. Phelps

§ Thomas K. Recktenwald

§ Ameerah Z. Granger

§ CheRhonda Greenlee

§ James R. Ponder

§ Steven D. Colston

§ Connell Devon Stokes

§ Eddie Davis

§ Donovan C. Taylor

The applications will be reviewed by the Jefferson County Attorney’s office to ensure the qualifications for office are met. The President will then call a special meeting to interview those who have applied. After those interviews, the Council will select a person to fill the vacancy.

“We will be very thorough in this process,” says King. “The Council will give these applicants the opportunity to tell us their vision and goals for District 1. From there we will select the person who will do the best job.”

The Metro Council