Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Metro Council members provide free VITA tax service in 2009

Thursday January 15, 2009

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

It is a program designed to help anyone who makes less than $42,000 file their income taxes for free with expert help along the way.

“I am so pleased that Metro Council members are helping us support the VITA tax service,” says Councilman Bob Henderson (D-14). “It is an easy way to help people through the complexity of the tax code and help them understand what they are entitled to in refunds.

In 2008, the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program helped 7,000 individuals in 11 locations throughout Metro Louisville.

The Louisville Building Asset Coalition is partnering with Metro Council Members to help provide funding for this free service in 2009. Other partners include the Internal Revenue Service, Metro United Way, Insight Communications, Metro Government and many other organizations.

Joining Councilman Henderson, Council members Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Marianne Butler (D-15), Tina Ward-Pugh (D-9), Rick Blackwell (D-12), James Peden (R-23), David Tandy (D-4) and Brent Ackerson (D-26)

“This year VITA hopes to help some 8,000 individuals,” says Henderson. “In these tough economic times this is a big help to people who need to make sure they are getting every dollar available to them when it comes to a tax refund.”

The free VITA service begins Tuesday, January 20th and runs through April 15th.

“On January 20th, the Southwest site will open located at 10646 Dixie Highway,” says Henderson. “The service will run until tax season is over.”

The hours of operations for the Southwest location are Monday, 9:00am to 4:00pm through Thursday 9:00am to 7:00pm. The site will also be open on Saturday 10:00am to 3:00pm.

To learn more about times and locations of VITA Centers call the Metro United Way’s 211 number.

Bob Henderson (D) 14
Vicki Aubrey Welch (D) 13
Marianne Butler (D) 15
Tina Ward-Pugh (D) 9
Rick Blackwell (D) 12
James Peden (R) 23
David Tandy (D) 4
Brent Ackerson (D) 26