Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

President King announces Chairs and Vice-Chairs for 2012 Metro Council Committees

Friday January 13, 2012

For Immediate Release:
Office of the President
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

Metro Council President Jim King (D-10) has announced the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Metro Council’s 12 standing committees for 2012.

Some of the Metro Council’s 12 committees have been refocused to reflect current priorities. During 2012 the President plans to create three Ad Hoc Committees to review specific areas of concern in Metro Government.

“The committee system is crucial in understanding the needs of the people of Metro Louisville in all areas from spending tax dollars to public safety,” said King.

Sustainability is a new committee created to handle a wide range of issues. It combines the old Parks, Libraries & Cultural Assets and Energy and Environment Committees into one.

“Sustainability gives us the flexibility to handle a wide range of quality of life issues in Louisville,” said King.

The old Contracts and Appointments Committee has been split into two separate committees.

“This Council has made geographic and socioeconomic diversity a top priority when it comes to the people who serve on the Board and Commissions of Metro Government,” said King. “This Committee will continue to work with the Fischer Administration to ensure we are finding all who are interested in serving throughout Louisville.”

Two committees have had title changes. Health and Human Needs will now be known as Health, Education and Housing, with the Transportation, Bridges and Public Works being renamed Public Works, Bridges and Transportation. The remaining committees will see no change in title or function.

The President plans to create three Ad-Hoc Committees this year: Vacant Property, Land Development Code and Franchises.

“The Ad Hoc Committee structure was successful in helping the Metro Council through redistricting last year,” said King. “These committees are short term and focused to attack a particular problem. Their work will give a focused approach to abandoned property, zoning concerns and what the city should require with franchises in the 21st Century.”

President King will remain as Chair of two Committees: the Committee on Committees and the Committee of the Whole. The President of the Metro Council is also an ex officio member of all other committees.

Chairs and Vice-Chairs for Metro Council Committees in 2012

Appropriations NDF’s and CIF’s:

Robin Engel (R-22) Chair

Dan Johnson (D-21) Vice-Chair


Rick Blackwell (D-12) Chair

Glen Stuckel (R-17) Vice-Chair


Marianne Butler (D-15) Chair

Kelly Downard (R-16) Vice-Chair

Community Affairs:

Barbara Shanklin (D-2) Chair

Bob Henderson (D-14) Vice-Chair


David Yates (D-17) Chair

Stuart Benson (R-20) Vice-Chair

Government Accountability and Ethics:

Jerry Miller (R-19) Chair

Brent Ackerson (D-26) Vice-Chair

Health, Education & Housing:

Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13) Chair

Mary C. Woolridge (D-3) Vice-Chair

Labor and Economic Development:

David Tandy (D-4) Chair

Kevin Kramer (R-11) Vice-Chair

Planning, Zoning, Land Design and Development:

Jon Ackerson (R-18)Chair

Tom Owen (D-8) Vice-Chair

Public Safety:

David James (D-6) Chair

James Peden (R-23) Vice-Chair

Public Works, Bridges & Transportation:

Brent Ackerson (D-26) Chair

Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5) Vice- Chair


Tina Ward-Pugh (D-9) Chair

Jerry Miller (R-19) Vice Chair

2012 Ad-Hoc Committees (when formed)

Vacant Property:

Kelly Downard (R-16) Chair

Attica Scott (D-1) Vice-Chair

Land Development Code:

Tom Owen (D-8) Chair

Glen Stuckel (R-17)


Dan Johnson (D-21) Chair

TBA Vice-Chair

Jim King (D) 10