Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Metro Council honors Outstanding Community Leaders and Citizens Thursday for Black History month

Wednesday February 23, 2011

For Immediate release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622
               Stephen Haag 574-1204/645-1752  

On Thursday, February 24th, the Metro Council’s Community Affairs Committee will hold a special meeting to honor Outstanding Community Leaders and Citizens as part of its 2011 Black History Month Program.

The meeting begins at 12:00pm in Council Chambers, 601 West Jefferson Street. The program continues the theme, “Reaffirming Our Diverse Culture.”

“This is one of those times of the year where we on the Metro Council get a chance to show our community just some of the many people who give their time and effort to make this a better place for all of us,” says Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D) 2 Chair of the committee. “These honorees embody the goodness that is in all of us when we show that we care. And want to make a difference.”

The program will celebrate its ninth year in conjunction with Black History Month. Two groups are honored for their work. One set of honorees is a group that has made a distinctive impact on the community. The second group is made up of individuals selected by Metro Council members. Below is a list of the honorees of for the 2011 Black History Program:

Honorees for the Kentucky Civil Rights Hall of Fame:

The late Paul Bather, the late Judge Robert Delahanty. Nancy Demartra, The late Judge Nathanial Harper, the late Rev. A.D. King, the late Rev. Leo Lesser, Gracie Lewis, the late Harold “Pee Wee” Reese, Leo B. Thomas Jr., Ann Wagner, Marsha Weinstein and Robert “Bob” Cunningham.

Honorees by the Louisville Metro Council:

District 1 - Yvonne and Steve Edwards

District 2 – Donald Goodwin

District 3 – Annie Blacksheer

District 4 – Rev. Charles Elliot

District 5 – Jessie Bryant Green

District 6 – Councilman George Unseld

District 8 – William Summers, IV

District 9 – Tracey Harper

District 10 – Sharon Fowler

District 11 – Glenn Brown

District 12 - Stephen Coleman

District 13 – Nyree Clayton

District 14 – Renee Lovelace

District 15 – Ruth Cowherd

District 17 – Stephan Johnson

District 18 – Robert Bell

District 19 – Naomi Bayne

District 20 – Jeff Harrison

District 21—Mike George

District 22 – Todd Bernard

District 23 – Ida Suggs

District 24 – Jennifer Freeman

District 25 – Tony Marbrey

District 26—Stacey Carter

Barbara Shanklin (D) 2