Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Downard names Metro Council committee chairs, vice chairs

Thursday January 15, 2004

Media Release
For Immediate Release

For Information Contact:
Jennifer F. Brislin

Patrick H. Neely

Metro Council President Kelly Downard today named the new committee chairs and vice chairs for all committees. In addition, Downard announced the formation of a second new committee – Minority Affairs.

“I had three goals in mind as I made the selections – finding the most qualified people for each committee, ensuring that the diversity of the community is reflected in its leadership and utilizing the experience of our longer-term legislators,” Downard said. “The 20 council members who will lead our 11 committees will do an excellent job of moving our community forward. These committee chairs and vice chairs bring strong qualifications to the table, while reflecting the diverse voices leading those committees.

“The second year of the Metro Council is an important one. We must build on the foundation in place from the first year. That means continuing to reconcile the more than 4,000 city and county ordinances. It also means setting a strong legislative agenda – a strong vision for the future of our community. That agenda will be developed over the next several weeks.”

The new committee chairs and vice chairs are: Appropriations and Revenue: Hal Heiner, R-19, chairman; Dan Johnson, D-21, vice chairman; Community Affairs: George Melton, D-15, chairman; Stuart Benson, R-20, vice chairman; Contracts and Appointments: Ken Fleming, R-7, chairman; Barbara Shanklin, D-2, vice chairwoman; Government Administration, Rules, Ethics and Audit: Kevin Kramer, R-11, chairman; Cheri Bryant Hamilton, D-5, vice chairwoman; Human Services (new committee)Denise Bentley, D-1, chairwoman; Julie Raque Adams, R-18, vice chairwoman; Labor Management, Affirmative Action and Human Resources: George Unseld, D-6, chairman; Glen Stuckel, R-17 vice chairman; Metro Development:Willie Bright, D-4, chairman; Ellen Call, R-26, vice chairwoman; Minority Affairs (new committee): Barbara Shanklin, D-2, chairwoman; Doug Hawkins, R-25, vice chairman; Planning and Zoning:Doug Hawkins, R-25, chairman; Tina Ward-Pugh, D-9, vice chairwoman; Public Health and Safety: James Peden, R-23, chairman; Mary Woolridge, D-3, vice chairwoman; Transportation and Public Works: Tom Owen, D-8, chairman; Robin Engel, R-22, vice chairman.

“Minority Affairs is the second new committee we’ve announced,” Downard said. “Barbara Shanklin and Doug Hawkins have expressed the need for a committee dedicated to looking at minority issues and were instrumental in the creation of this committee. They, along with the other committee members, will accomplish important work for our community.”

Caucus chairs will select their respective members for each committee, and committees are expected to set dates and times for their meetings before Feb. 2. In addition, committee leadership will attend training on parliamentary procedure to ensure that committees run smoothly, efficiently and adhere to the rules.


Kelly Downard (R)  16