Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

“Movies under the Stars” returning to Iroquois Amphitheater on May 8th

Tuesday April 27, 2010

For Immediate Release:
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/ 526-3622

A summer tradition returns to Iroquois Park on Saturday night, May 8th when the 2010 “Movies under the Stars” season kicks off at the Iroquois Amphitheater.

“I am pleased to provide families and residents in the area a chance to go out to a movie for free and enjoy the beauty of Iroquois Park,” says Councilwoman Marianne Butler (D-15). “Over the years we have seen this event grow as a way to have good summer fun.”

“Movies under the Stars” is held on the second Saturday night of each month during May through September. Meryl Streep’s “Julie & Julia” will premiere the 2010 season beginning at 9:00pm. Everyone is invited to come out and enjoy the comfort of the Iroquois Amphitheater or bring a blanket, chairs and a picnic basket from home. Concessions will be available as well.

Joining Butler in sponsoring the free movies are Council Members George Unseld (D-6), Rick Blackwell (D-12), Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Bob Henderson (D-14) Dan Johnson (D-21), Jim King (D-10), Mary C. Woolridge (D-3) Doug Hawkins (R-25), Jon Ackerson (R-18) and Brent Ackerson (D-26).

Here is the schedule of films for 2010 “Movies under the Stars”

Julie & Julia May 8th, 9:00pm

The Blind Side June 12th, 9:00pm

Couples Retreat July 10th 9:00pm

Shrek the Third August 14th, 9:00pm

Mamma Mia! September 11th, 8:00pm

“These movies also give everyone who has not been to Iroquois Park recently to see what a great asset it is to our community,” says Butler. “I hope everyone enjoys themselves this year.”

For more information about the 2010 “Movies under the Stars” line up and times, contact Councilwoman Butler’s office at 574-1115. Or you can contact the Iroquois Amphitheater at 368-5865.

Marianne Butler (D) 15
Mary C. Woolridge (D) 3
George Unseld (D) 6
Rick Blackwell (D) 12
Vicki Aubrey Welch (D) 13
Bob Henderson (D) 14
Dan Johnson (D) 21
Jim King (D) 10
Doug Hawkins (R) 25
Jon Ackerson (R) 18
Brent Ackerson (D) 26