Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Metro Council to honor Outstanding Community Leaders for Black History Month

Tuesday February 26, 2013

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622
               Stephen Haag 574-1204 / 645-1752

Louisville – On Thursday, February 28th the Metro Council’s Community Affairs Committee will hold a special meeting to honor Outstanding Community Leaders ‘during its 2013 Black History Month Program.

The theme of this year’s program is “Reaffirming Our Diverse Culture”. It begins at 12:00pm in Council Chambers, 601 West Jefferson Street.

“Each year, the Metro Council takes a moment to honor citizens in our districts who work for change and help others,” says Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D-2) who chairs the committee. “Through their efforts, our community is a better place to live. This is one way of thanking them for what they do.”

One group will be honored during the program along with 26 individuals. Below is a list of the honorees of for the 2013 Black History Program:

2013 Group Award:

This year the Committee will honor the Justice Resource Center and its members for the group’s work in the area of civil rights and social justice issues in Metro Louisville.

2013 Honorees

District 1 Timiko D. Edwards

District 2 Ruben Pulliam

District 3 Linda Baker Thomas

District 4 Lawrence Wilbon

District 5 Keith Cook

District 6 Luther Brown

District 7 Sonja Grey

District 8 Elizabeth Kizito

District 9 Jean Pennick

District 10 Michael L. Meeks

District 11 Tierra KavanaughTurner

District 12 Toni Boyd

District 13 Vanessa Moore

District 14 Lisa Franklin Gray

District 15 Karl Laird

District 16 Pastor Jerry Stephenson

District 17 Donald Myers, Jr.

District 18 Rick Howland

District 19 Issac Comage

District 20 Robert Allen Brown

District 21 Pastor Moses Foyah

District 22 Dale Josey

District 23 Eddie Goodwin, Jr.

District 24 Shonda Barlow

District 25 LaKunta Farmer

District 26 Kevin Jones

Barbara Shanklin (D) 2