Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Woolridge, Tandy, Hamilton and James encourage residents to attend NIA Center Redistricting meeting

Tuesday October 4, 2011

For Immediate Release:
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

Four members of the Louisville Metro Council are inviting residents of their respective districts to attend a special regional meeting at the NIA Center to learn about proposed redistricting changes for the area.

“I am sure there will be many people with questions,” says Councilwoman Mary C. Woolridge (D-3). “This is an opportunity to see what is being proposed and what changes are being made to specific council districts.”

Woolridge and Council members David Tandy (D-4), Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5) and David James (D-6) plan to attend the meeting along with other officials to explain the redistricting process and changes.

“This is the first time the council districts will be realigned since they were first enacted at the beginning of merger,” says Tandy. “The Metro Council has been very thorough in its goal to make sure there is equal representation across 26 council districts even though there have been population shifts in the west end.”

The meeting is one of six regional sessions announced and sponsored by the Council’s Ad Hoc Committee on Redistricting. Residents of District 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6 have a chance to attend the following:

West Regional Redistricting Meeting

Thursday, October 6th

The Nia Center

2900 West Broadway


“These meetings will be a chance to learn the facts and how the Ad Hoc Committee has reviewed US Census data and made adjustments to these districts,” says Hamilton, who is a member of the committee. “There can be a great deal of misinformation about this process from those who are not directly involved.”

“We need to hear from the people all over the west end and in all of our communities,” says James. “This process happens once every ten years and we need to get everyone involved.”

Mary C. Woolridge (D) 3
David Tandy (D) 4
Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5
David James (D) 6