Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

President King names 2013 Chairs and Vice Chairs of 12 Standing Committees of the Metro Council

Thursday January 10, 2013

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622
               Stephen Haag 574-1204 /  645-1752

Louisville – Metro Council President Jim King (D-10) has announced the appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs for the Metro Council’s Standing Committees and Ad Hoc Committees for 2013.

“My thanks to those who have agreed to serve in these leadership positions,” said King. “Our committees have an important role in reviewing issues and legislation that help move Metro Louisville forward. The leaders of these committees have the experience and dedication necessary to ensure good legislation is enacted by the Council.”

Here are the Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs for 2013:

Standing Committees:


Chair, Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), Vice Chair Jerry Miller (R-19)


Chair, Marianne Butler (D-15), Vice Chair, Kelly Downard (R-16)


Chair, Rick Blackwell (D-12), Vice Chair, Marilyn Parker (R-18)


Chair, Robin Engel (R-22), Vice Chair, Dan Johnson (D-21)

Community Affairs

Chair, Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Vice Chair, Cindi Fowler (D-14)

Public Safety

Chair, Kevin Kramer (R-11), Vice Chair, David Yates (D-25)

Government Accountability & Ethics

Chair, Jerry Miller (R-19), Vice Chair, Madonna Flood (D-24)

Health, Education and Housing

Chair, Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Vice Chair, Mary C. Woolridge (D-3)


Chair, Tina Ward Pugh (D-9), Vice Chair, Tom Owen (D-8)

Labor/Economic Development

Chair, David Tandy (D-4), Vice Chair, Stuart Benson (R-20)

Public Works, Bridges & Transportation

Chair, Tom Owen (D-8), Vice Chair, Robin Engel (R-22)

Planning, Zoning, & Land Development

Chair Madonna Flood (D-24), Vice Chair, Glen Stuckel (D-17)

Ad Hoc Committees:

Vacant Properties

Chair, Kelly Downard (R-16), Vice Chair, Attica Scott (D-1)

Land Development Code

Chair, James Peden (R-23), Vice Chair, Brent Ackerson (D-26)


Chair, David Yates (D-25), Vice Chair, Ken Fleming (R-7)

At the suggestion of Councilman David Yates, the President has created a new Ad Hoc Committee which will seek to strengthen the Council’s working relationship with Frankfort and Washington DC.

“This Intergovernmental Committee will work to build a relationship with our Jefferson County legislative delegation and make recommendations for change to our state governance statutes under 67C, the law that created merged government,” said King. “I anticipate this Committee will also work with the Mayor’s Office to review other statutes that affect Metro Louisville, such as local option taxes and federal issues as well.”