Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

King appointed Metro Council Budget Chairman for Second Term

Friday January 15, 2010

For Immediate Release:
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

For the first time in Metro Government history, a Councilmember has been elected to a second consecutive term as Metro Council Budget Chair.

On Wednesday, Metro Councilman Jim King (D-10) was appointed by President Tom Owen to serve as Budget Chair for 2010. Previously, Councilman King had been appointed by President David Tandy to serve as Budget Chair for 2009.

“I want to thank President Owen and my colleagues for allowing me to serve as Budget Chair again for 2010,” said King. “These are challenging times for Metro Louisville and I am honored that President Owen believes that I can help lead our community and our Council toward better economic times,” said King. Councilman King was urged by his colleagues to accept the position given his vast knowledge of budgetary issues and his leadership on past Metro Government budget activities.

King has held leadership positions on the Metro Council since being elected to the Council in2005. He served as vice-chair of the Democratic Caucus in 2005, Caucus Chair in 2006 and 2007, Metro Council President in 2008 and Metro Council Budget Chair in 2009.

Councilman King was elected Councilman in 2004 for District 10 and won re-election in 2008.

Councilman King represents Metro Council District 10 that includes the neighborhoods of Schnitzelburg, Germantown, St. Joseph’s, George Rogers Clark, Towne Orchard, Kensington, Petersburg Estates and the cities of Parkway Village, Audubon Park, Watterson Park and West Buechel.

Jim King (D) 10