Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Councilman Tandy elected President of the 2009 Metro Council

Thursday January 8, 2009

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622
              Stephen Haag 574-1204/645-1752

By a unanimous vote, Councilman David Tandy (D-4) was elected the seventh President of the Louisville Metro Council on Thursday night, January 8th.

“I am honored to be chosen and I want to thank my colleagues for this opportunity to move the city of Louisville forward,” said Tandy. “These are important times in the months ahead and we need to work together.”

Tandy was appointed to the Metro Council in 2004, following the death of Willie Bright. He won re-election to the seat in 2006 and a full term in 2008.

In accepting the office, Tandy indicated that he wants to work with the Council in making a better place to live and the envy of other cities in the nation.

“It is my hope and intent that we’re a city that boldly progresses to the future,” Tandy says. “As we continue to debate the issues for the day, we should be mindful that whenever we deal with a particular issue there are only two options: we move forward and progress or regress. Standing still and doing nothing is not an option.”

Tandy represents the Downtown Louisville-Central Business District, and the neighborhoods of Butchertown, California, Germantown, Irish Hill, Meriwether, Original Highlands, Phoenix Hill, Paristown Pointe, Portland, Russell, Shelby Park, and Smoketown.

Since the beginning of merged government, the Metro Council President has been elected at the first meeting of the Council each year.

Here are the past Presidents of the Louisville Metro Council:

Ron Weston (D-13) 2003
Kelly Downard (R-16) 2004
Barbara Shanklin (D-2) 2005
Kevin Kramer (R-11) 2006
Rick Blackwell (D-12) 2007
Jim King (D-10) 2008