Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Flood re-elected Majorty Leader, Shanklin Vice Chair of Majority Caucus

Thursday January 6, 2011

For Immediate release:
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

On Thursday, Councilwoman Madonna Flood (D- 24) was re-elected by members of the Democratic Caucus to serve as Majority Leader and Caucus Chair for 2011. Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D-2) was selected as Vice-Chairman of the Caucus.

“I appreciate the confidence the Caucus has shown in electing me for a second term,” said Flood. “With a new Mayor and new officials in his administration, I look forward to working with him to move our city forward.”

Flood was a founding member of the Metro Council representing the Okolona Area of District 24 in 2002. She was re-elected to a four year term in 2004 and 2008.

“I look forward to helping the majority leader in the issues that face us in the coming year,” said Shanklin. “With each passing year, the Metro Council has found solutions to problems and enacted programs that continue to a better quality life for our citizens.”

Shanklin represents the Newburg and Norfolk areas. She is also a founding member of the Metro Council. She was re-elected to a four year term in 2004 and 2008.

Both Flood and Shanklin were selected by a unanimous vote of the Majority Caucus in its first meeting of the year.

Madonna Flood (D) 24
Barbara Shanklin (D) 2