Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

New Cut Road / Taylor Blvd Corridor Study approved by the Metro Council’s Planning and Zoning Committee

Tuesday July 16, 2013

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622

Louisville – The Metro Council’s Planning, Zoning and Land Design Committee has approved a new study which advocates revitalizing and redeveloping an important urban corridor in Metro Louisville.

The New Cut Road/ Taylor Boulevard Corridor Study maps out steps to bring the area new life and a new look while retaining the characteristics needed for neighborhoods and economic development. The plan’s approach calls for rezoning several key areas, the creation of development plans and focusing on funding for traffic and economic development opportunities.

“The District 13 end of the corridor includes the now closed Different Strokes property which is prime for a retail strip of shops and restaurants. The New Cut/Taylor Plan creates a zoning change to C-2 to allow quicker development of that property area,” says Councilwoman Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13). “With an approved corridor plan in hand, we will be able to go to Frankfort to ask for state funding along with other grant opportunities to fund the corridor improvements in the future.”

The Corridor Study was conducted and prepared by the City Solutions Center of the University of Louisville and the Kentucky League of Cities. It was funded with Neighborhood Development Funds provided by Welch and Council members Marianne Butler (D-15), Dan Johnson (D-21) and David Yates (D-25)

The study covers the area from the Watterson Expressway at Taylor Boulevard going south to the Gene Snyder Freeway along New Cut Road. It highlights the need for better mobility, economic development initiatives and land use. It calls for rezoning in three key areas and advocates beautification and revitalization.

“South Louisville has many venues and many opportunities for businesses to locate. The completion of this plan showcases the unified effort of the community and local government to improve the quality of life for residents and businesses in the area,” says Butler.

There are three key redevelopment areas in the Study:

· Northern anchor – former Iroquois Homes site

· Central Development Colonial Gardens

· Southern Anchor – Former Different Strokes Golf Course

In the area of mobility, the study calls for utilizing available streets and roadways between the Watterson and Gene Snyder Expressways for sidewalks, bike lanes and easier turn lanes for traffic The proposal calls for streetscaping many areas with trees, flowers and banners along with street furniture to give a modern and unified look. It also recommends renaming the entire corridor as “The Jefferson Parkway.”

“I’m pleased with the attention and plans being proposed for this corridor that connects so many wonderful destinations including, Churchill Downs, Iroquois Park, Iroquois Amphitheater, and the Jefferson Forest to name a few,” says Yates. “I look forward to seeing these improvements that will help entice more economic development in South Louisville”

“This study incorporates the potential for the area. Already, there is activity moving forward with redevelopment of Colonial Gardens. This plan will enhance more development while at the same time keep our neighborhoods unique,” says Johnson.

The Corridor study was completed after several workshops and public comment sessions seeking input as to how the area could be revitalized while at the same time keeping its identity.

A Task Force was created to work with Council members and the Metro Department of Economic Growth and Innovation. Members of the Task Force included Stephen Cotton, Ray Crider, Steve Elble, Vince Jarboe, Ken Johnson, Richard Manion, Barbara Nichols, Craig Oeswein, Pamela Shofner and Ray Whitener.

If passed by the Louisville Metro Council, New Cut Road / Taylor Boulevard Corridor would be incorporated into the Cornerstone 2020 Comprehensive

Vicki Aubrey Welch (D) 13
David Yates (D) 25
Marianne Butler (D) 15
Dan Johnson (D) 21