Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

“The Butler” is the next Movies Under the Stars at Iroquois Amphitheater on Saturday, July 19th

Monday July 14, 2014

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622
Stephen Haag 574-1204 / 645-1752

Louisville – “The Butler”, the 2013 American Historical Drama film, is the next feature of the Movies Under the Stars series at the Iroquois Amphitheater on Saturday, July 19st at 8:00pm.

“Summer is in full swing and as people look for something to do on the weekend, we are offering another great year of movies to enjoy at Iroquois Amphitheater. These movies are free and it is a great way to spend time with the family or friends,” says Councilwoman Marianne Butler (D-15).

“The Butler” tells the story of life inside the White House as seen through the eyes of a butler who has served Presidents from Dwight Eisenhower to Ronald Reagan. He has a chance to observe many historical events that shaped the 50’s, 60’s, 70’s and 80’s in America. It stars Forest Whittaker, Oprah Winfrey, Terrance Howard, Robin Williams, James Marsden and Jane Fonda.

Movies Under the Stars is made possible by several Metro Council members who are bringing first run features and Hollywood Classics to residents for free.

Joining Butler as sponsors this year are Dan Johnson (D-21), Rick Blackwell (D-12), Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14), Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), David James (D-6), Jim King (D-10), Kelly Downard (R-16), Attica Scott (D-1), Tina Ward-Pugh (D-9), Brent Ackerson (D-26), Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), Tom Owen (D-8), Glen Stuckel (R-17) and Stuart Benson (R-20).

Concessions are available. No outside food.

Iroquois Amphitheater is located at 1080 Amphitheater Road, off New Cut Road. To learn more about events at Iroquois Amphitheater call 502-368-5865.

Marianne Butler (D) 15
Dan Johnson (D) 21
Rick Blackwell (D) 12
Vicki Aubrey Welch (D) 13
CIndi Fowler (D) 14
Mary C. Woolridge (D) 3
David James (D) 6
Jim King (D)10
Kell Downard (R) 16
Attica Scott (D) 1
Tina Ward-Pugh (D) 9
Brent Ackerson (D) 26
Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5
Tom OWen (D) 8
Glen Stuckel (R) 17
Stuart Benson (D) 20