Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

President King reelected by Metro Council to serve fourth term in 2014

Monday January 6, 2014

For Immediate Release:
Office of the President
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622

Louisville – By a vote of 23 to 0, Councilman Jim King (D-10) was reelected President of the Louisville Metro Council for an unprecedented fourth straight one year term during its Organizational Session on Monday, January 6th.

“I am honored once again to have your support and I look forward to serving,” said King.

During his acceptance speech, the President thanked the Council for its work in approving a budget that restored essential services, added $4 million to the city’s Rainy Day Fund and additional money to the Affordable Housing Trust Fund.

He said one the Council’s greatest accomplishment in 2013 was its partnership to assist in Kentucky Kingdom’s reopening which was a top priority..

“Over the weekend, more than 7,000 people applied for the 1,000 jobs Kentucky Kingdom will make available when it opens this summer. We made that happen,” said King.

As to the year ahead, the President laid out a list of priorities that includes dealing with the ban on annexation and small cities under merged government set to expire in 2015, the budget and the local option sales tax which is set for discussion by the Kentucky General Assembly this year.

“I have had discussions with Mayor and stressed that any funding priority decisions involving the Local Option Sales Tax must include Metro Council involvement at the very beginning if we are to support the concept,” he said.

King is the only Council person to be elected President five times in the life of the Metro Council. He was first elected to the position in 2008. Prior to that, he served two years as Majority Leader of the Democratic Caucus. In 2009 and 2010, he was Chairman of the Council’s Budget Committee. King was elected to the Metro Council in 2004. He was reelected again in 2008 and 2012.

H. Stephen Ott was unanimously reelected as the Metro Council Clerk for 2014.

Jim King (D) 10