Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Council members Blackwell and Green elected Chair and Vice Chair of the Majority Caucus

Thursday January 10, 2008

For Immediate Release
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/ 526-3622

Metro Council members have selected Rick Blackwell (D) 12 as the Majority Leader and Judith Green (D) 1 Vice Chair of the Metro Council’s Democratic Caucus.

“It has been a privilege to serve as Metro Council President. I am honored that my colleagues have chosen me as the Democratic Caucus Chair,” said Blackwell. “I look forward to working together with President Jim King on the challenges the next year will present.”

The two Council members were elected during the regular Majority Caucus meeting on Thursday, January 10th.

“I look forward to working with the members of the Caucus and the Council as a way of helping move this great community forward,” says Green. “Past Caucus Chairs have done a wonderful job of building strong unity among in the Caucus and I plan to continue that effort. I am ready to serve and advance the principles of the Democratic Caucus.”

Blackwell is an original member of the Louisville Metro Council. He was re-elected to the Council in 2004. He was elected President of the Council on January 4th of 2007.

Green is serving her first term as a Metro Council member. She was elected in November of 2006 and took the oath of office on December 28th

District 12 comprises the Pleasure Ridge Park are of Louisville along Dixie Highway. District 1 is covers portions of West Louisville and the Cane Run Road area to Lower Hunters Trace.

Rick Blackwell (D) 12
Judith Green (D) 1