Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

President Owen announces 2010 Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs

Tuesday January 12, 2010

For Immediate Release:
Office of of the President
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622
             Stephen Haag 574-1204/645-1752

Metro Council President Tom Owen (D-8) has announced who will be in charge of 12 Council Committees in the coming year. For the first time, an energy and environment committee is being created to review future environmental trends for Metro Louisville.

“The time has come to look ahead and see what our long term energy needs are for this city,” said Owen. “As American and World leaders assess issues such as resource limitations, climate change and global warming, we should begin a review of where we are headed in the 21st Century.”

The new Committee is responsible for review of trends local, state and national for Louisville when it comes to the future use of natural resources. It will review programs that are environmentally sustainable yet economically responsible from air quality to recycling and waste disposal.

The Committee will examine ways to make Metro Louisville “Greener” while making the public more aware of the challenges and opportunities we face through legislation and education.

The remaining Metro Council Committees will see no change in goals or descriptions for the coming year.

“I want to thank my colleagues who have agreed to the Chair and Vice Chair positions on these committees,” says Owen. “We have some very important work ahead of us in the coming year. I know these are dedicated people who have Metro Louisville’s best interests at heart.”

Here are the Chairs and Vice-Chairs for Metro Council Committees in 2010

Appropriations NDF’s and CIF’s:

Robin Engel (R-22) Chair

Rick Blackwell (D-12) Vice Chair


Jim King (D-10) Chair

Kelly Downard (R-16) Vice Chair

Community Affairs:

Barbara Shanklin (D-2) Chair

Doug Hawkins (R-25) Vice Chairman

Contracts and Appointments:

Stuart Benson (R-20) Chair

Mary Woolridge (D-3) Vice Chair

Energy & Environment:

Brent Ackerson (D-26) Chair

James Peden (R-23 Vice-Chair

Government Accountability and Oversight:

Tina Ward-Pugh (D-9) Chair

Ken Fleming (R-7) Vice Chairman

Health & Human Needs:

Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13) Chair

Kevin Kramer (R-11) Vice Chair

Labor & Economic Development:

Marianne Butler (D-15) Chair

Kelly Downard (R-16) Vice Chair

Parks, Libraries & Cultural Activities:

Glen Stuckel (R-17) Chair

Bob Henderson (D-14) Vice Chair

Planning/Zoning, Land Design & Development:

Jon Ackerson (R-18) Chair

Dan Johnson (D-21) Vice Chair

Public Safety:

Kevin Kramer (R-11) Chair

Judy Green (D-1) Vice Chair

Transportation/Public Works:

Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5) Chair

Robin Engel (R-22) Vice Chair

Tom Owen (D) 8