Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Welch and johnson elected 2014 Democratic Caucus leaders

Monday January 6, 2014

For Immediate Release
Democratic Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622

Louisville – On Monday, members of the Democratic Caucus selected Councilwoman Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13) to serve as Majority Leader and Caucus Chair for 2014. The Caucus also selected Councilman Dan Johnson (D-21) to serve as Vice-Chair.

“I want to thank the Caucus members for allowing me to serve as Majority Leader as a new year begins,” said Welch. “The Democratic Caucus will continue to work together to make Metro Louisville a better, safer community.”

Welch was first elected to the Metro Council in 2006 and then reelected in 2010. She represents a large area of South and Southwest Louisville spanning from Valley Station to Okolona including Auburndale, Fairdale, Yorktown and the Jefferson Memorial Forest, the largest urban forest in the USA.

In 2013, she was Vice Chair of the Democratic Caucus and chaired the Council’s Health, Education and Housing Committee and served on the Government Accountability &Ethics as well as the Budget Committees.

“I look forward to working with Councilwoman Welch and the other members of our Caucus to continue doing good things for the people of Metro Louisville,” said Johnson

Johnson was elected to the Metro Council in 2002 and reelected in 2006 and 2010. He is one of the founding members of the Metro Council and was member of the Louisville Board of Aldermen prior to the creation of the merged government.

In 2013, he served on the Metro Council’s Appropriations NDF’s/CIF’s Committee, Contracts and Budget Committees. He also worked on writing the first merged government plan back before 2003.

Vicki Aubrey Welch (D) 13
Dan Johnson (D) 21