Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Metro Council Community Affairs Committee to host 12th Annual Black History Program on Thursday, February 27th

Tuesday February 25, 2014

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137 / 526-3622
Stephen Haag 574-1204 / 645-1752

Louisville – The Community Affairs Committee of the Louisville Metro Council will continue a tradition on Thursday, February 27th when it hosts the 12th Annual Black History Program as part of Black History Month.

The program will highlight the work of several individuals in the districts of the Louisville Metro Council and a very special honor will go to an institution of higher learning.

“Each year, we give recognition to people who work to make our community better. They may not be well known but their actions show others how to lead by example,” says Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D-2) who chairs the committee. “This year we have a very distinguished group of honorees.”

The special meeting begins at 12:00pm in Council Chambers, 601 West Jefferson Street.

The Committee will also award a special honor to Simmons College of Louisville. The 135 year old institution of learning recently received Accreditation from the Association of Biblical Higher Education

The special program will recognize the work of Dr. Lundeana M. Thomas who is a Full Professor of Theatre Arts and Director of the African American Theatre Program at the University of Louisville

Here are the 2014 Honorees:

District 1 – Wanda Stanley

District 2 – Charlinda Harris Anderson

District 3 – George Burney

District 4 – Anita Neal

District 5 – Vanessa Lackey

District 6 – Bruce Sherrod

District 7 – Elias Oxendine

District 8 – Officer Kevin Mumphrey

District 9 – Toni Graves

District 10 –Roosevelt “Rudy” Jones

District 11- Charles “Chuck” Matthews

District 12 – Scott Love

District 13 – Barry Washington

District 14 – Cestau “Cee Cee” Clark

District 15 – Arabella Brown

District 17 – Dwayne Roberts

District 18 – Ron Burrell

District 19 – John W. Huggins Ed. D

District 20 – Kirk Lattimore

District 21 -- Stacy Bailey-Ndiaye

District 22 – Chuck Richardson

District 23— Venita Benboe

District 24 – James Elliott

District 25 – Xavier Burell

District 26 – Larry M. McDonald

Barbara Shanklin (D) 2