Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Seventeen council members recognize Respect for Life Day

Wednesday January 21, 2004

Media Release
For Immediate Release

For Information Contact:
Jennifer F. Brislin

Patrick H. Neely

Seventeen members of the Louisville Metro Council today gave their support for Respect for Life Day.

Thursday marks the 31st anniversary of the controversial Roe vs. Wade Supreme Court decision legalizing abortion in America.

“The Declaration of Independence of the United States affirms that human beings are endowed with certain inalienable rights by their creator and the first of these rights is life,” said Councilman Robin Engel, R-22. “Those in the sanctity of life movement are making a major impact on changing the hearts of our young people on this issue.”

In conjunction with Washington, D.C.’s commemoration of the National Support for Life Day, the following Metro Council representatives would like to thank the Louisville supporters of life who will gather peacefully at noon Thursday in front of the Metro Hall (formerly the courthouse) in Louisville and at noon Jan. 28 the State Capitol in Frankfort:

Cyril Allgeier, D-10; Kevin Kramer, R-11; Rick Blackwell, D-12; Ron Weston, D-13; Bob Henderson, D-14; George Melton, D-15; Kelly Downard, R-16; Glen Stuckel, R-17; Julie Raque Adams, R-18; Hal Heiner, R-19; Stuart Benson, R-20; Dan Johnson, D-21; Robin Engel, R-22; James Peden, R-23; Madonna Flood, D-24; Doug Hawkins, R-25; and Ellen Call, R-26.

“Although there are people of faith on both sides of the issue, we believe that it is important to take a strong stance against abortion on demand, and we are encouraged by the recent legislation that prohibits partial birth abortion,” Blackwell said. “We want to encourage all of the citizens of Louisville to respect life from the womb to the tomb.”


Julie Raque Adams (R)  18
Cyril Allgeier (D)  10
Stuart Benson (R)  20
Rick Blackwell (D)  12
Ellen Call (R)  26
Kelly Downard (R)  16
Robin Engel (R)  22
Madonna Flood (D)  24
Doug Hawkins (R)  25
Hal Heiner (R)  19
Robert Henderson (D)  14
Dan Johnson (D)  21
Kevin Kramer (R)  11
George Melton (D)  15
James Peden (R)  23
Glen Stuckel (R)  17
Ron Weston (D)  13