Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Council members want to return their cost-of-living raises

Thursday June 26, 2003

Media Release
For Immediate Release

For Information Contact:
Jennifer F. Brislin


Patrick H. Neely

Seventeen members of the Louisville Metro Council want to return the cost-of-living raise that is mandated by state law.

A letter has been sent to the Jefferson County Attorney’s office for an opinion on how the council can give back the cost-of-living adjustments for their salaries.

There is a question about whether state law mandates that council members must receive a cost of living raise each year. Many council members in both caucuses have said they want to return their raises because about 2,000 of the Metro Government employees will not receive a cost-of-living increase in the budget that will be voted on tonight.

“The entire Republican Caucus believes it is wrong to accept raises for ourselves when we are asking employees to go without raises this year,” said Kelly Downard, District 16 councilman and Republican Caucus chair.

Councilman Tom Owen, D-District 8, added: “We are asking all Metro employees to forgo pay raises, and I want to share in that austerity.”

The 17 council members who want to give their cost-of-living raise back this year are:

Barbara Shanklin, D-District 2; Ken Fleming, R-District 7; Tom Owen, D-District 8; Tina Ward-Pugh, D-District 9; Kevin Kramer, R-District 11; Rick Blackwell, D-District 12; Ron Weston, D-District 13; Kelly Downard, R-District 16; Glen E. Stuckel, R-District 17; Julie Raque Adams, R-District 18; Hal Heiner, R-District 19; Stuart Benson, R-District 20;Robin Engel, R-District 22; James H. Peden, R-District 23; Madonna Flood, D-District 24; Doug Hawkins, R-District 25; Ellen Call, R-District 26.


Julie Raque Adams (R)  18
Stuart Benson (R)  20
Rick Blackwell (D)  12
Ellen Call (R)  26
Kelly Downard (R)  16
Robin Engel (R)  22
Kenneth C. Fleming (R)  7
Madonna Flood (D)  24
Doug Hawkins (R)  25
Hal Heiner (R)  19
Kevin Kramer (R)  11
Tom Owen (D)  8
James Peden (R)  23
Barbara Shanklin (D)  2
Glen Stuckel (R)  17
Tina Ward-Pugh (D)  9
Ron Weston (D)  13