Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Metro Council Members join PRIDE INC to celebrate Annual Seniors Thanksgiving Day Dinner

Friday November 19, 2010

For Immediate Release:
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

Several members of the Louisville Metro Council will continue a holiday tradition next Thursday in an effort to ensure seniors and elderly in need have a good Thanksgiving Dinner in the company of those who care.

The Annual Seniors Thanksgiving Day Dinner Sponsored by PRIDE INC. is set for the Presbyterian Community Center from 12:00pm to 2:00pm.

“This dinner symbolizes all that is good in our community,” says Councilman David Tandy (D-4). “Every year, seniors are our special guests as we give thanks for our many blessings during this holiday season.”

Metro Council members joining Tandy and PRIDE as sponsors of the event: Judith Green (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), David James (D-6) and Dan Johnson (D-21). The New Jerusalem Church is also a sponsor of the event.

“For many seniors, families have grown up and moved on and at this time of year, it is important to make sure they have a chance to celebrate with others,” says Shanklin. “We are fortunate to have so many people who care in Metro Louisville.”

“The Annual Seniors Thanksgiving dinner is such a wonderful tradition,” says Green. “Many of these seniors have contributed so much to our community, this is one way to letting them know they have not been forgotten.” be part of a family if they are alone or

The dinner is free for persons 50 years of age and over. There will be door prizes and entertainment for the event.

“Our purpose is to make sure everyone has a wonderful holiday,” says Johnson.

The Presbyterian Community Center is located at 701 South Hancock Street.

Judith Green (D) 1
Barbara Shanklin (D) 2
Mary C. Woolridge (D) 3
David Tandy (D) 4
Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5
David James (D) 6
Dan Johnson (D) 21