Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Hamilton announces recipients of 2011 Molly Leonard Community Service Awards

Thursday September 8, 2011

For Immediate Release:
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro COuncil
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

They are dedicated men and women, all ages and from all walks of life who have used their time and talents to make District 5 a better community in which to live. On Saturday, September 10th, they will receive a “thank you” from the community they have served.

Councilwoman Cheri Bryant Hamilton will honor the 2011 Molly Leonard Community Service Award winners during the District 5 Community Celebration Concert in Shawnee Park.

“We owe a debt of gratitude to these volunteers who have helped all of us,” says Hamilton. “This is a chance for the community to shine a spotlight on a group of dedicated group of people who have never asked for anything in return for their service. This is our way of honoring them.”

The Awards are named after the late Molly Leonard, who was known to many in District 5 as the mayor of Portland. She was a dedicated volunteer and community activist in the area. This is the sixth year these Community Service Awards have been handed out in honor of her impact on the community.

The honorees were nominated by friends and neighbors to the District 5 Advisory Committee who will make the presentations.

District 5 Molly Leonard Community Service Award 2011 Recipients

Health, Wellness & Nutrition

Monica Brown, Christine Cooper, Mark White, Pat Williamson, Valerie Magnuson

Shawnee Weed & Seed

Sylvia Wright, Lt. LaVita Chavous, Stephanie Benson, Linda Williams, William Gatewood, Dana Tinsley, Jerri Hinkle, Dianna Walker


Keith Jones, Chad Rehnberg, Margaret Beaumont, Evelyn Spurley


Myrna Brame, Chris Epps, Larry Tyus, Donna Adams, Clarence Leslie, Donovan Taylor, Walter Perry, James White, Jackie McComb, Danny McDole, Jerry Renck, Arthur Faust, Major Andre Brown.

The Community Service Awards will be presented during the Community Celebration Concert at 4:00pm. The Concert will be held at the Shawnee Park Amphitheater.

Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5