Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Metro Council Members Hamilton, Watkins and Woolridge Co-host the Saturday Academy

Friday February 24, 2006

Press Release
For Immediate Release

Media Contact:
Kenya McGruder        
(502) 574-1296 (office)
(502) 797-6128 (cell)

“Re-establishing the Saturday Academy”

LOUISVILLE, KY- Please join Metro Council Members, Cheri Bryant Hamilton, D-5, Leonard Watkins, D-1, and Mary Woolridge,  D-3  for   the Re-establishment of the “Saturday Academy” on   Saturday, February  25  at 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. at the DuValle Education Center, 3610 Bohne Avenue. After Saturday, the academy will be held at two West Louisville locations. It will meet at DuValle on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month and at the Shawnee Community Center, 607 South 37th Street, on the first and third Saturdays of each month through May 28, 2006.

The Saturday Academy will be a community based program on the history and culture Black people in the United States and throughout the world, and will also feature weekly discussions on current issues facing the Black community led by Dr. J. Blaine Hudson, Dean of the U of L College of Arts and Sciences.

“The re-establishment of the Saturday Academy is important to this community because Black History should be taught and shared all year long-not just during Black History Month. Sadly, it is possible for people, black and white, to live their entire lives without knowing much about the history of Africans and African Americans, beyond Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Harriet Tubman and Rosa Parks. I am excited about having the program at the Shawnee Community Center this program will focus on the black community and the events important to our Louisville and Kentucky history.”

The Saturday Academy is free and open to high school students and interested adults of all ages. The Academy is sponsored by the Office of Diversity and Outreach of the College of Arts and Sciences of the University of Louisville, in collaboration with Council Members Hamilton, Watkins and Woolridge, the Jefferson County Public Schools, the Shawnee Community Center and the Kentucky Center for the African American Heritage.

Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D) 5
Leonard Watkins (D) 1
Mary Woolridge (D) 3