Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Majority Caucus issues statements on take home car settlement

Thursday March 3, 2011

For Immediate Release:
Majority Caucus
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

Following today’s announcement of a settlement with members of the River City Fraternal Order of Police concerning take home cars, some members of the Majority Caucus have issued the following statements:

“I am glad we have resolved this issue and we are ready to move forward with regard to working with the men and women of Louisville Metro Police to make our communities safe. This is a good sign of better cooperation between leaders and public workers in our city. ”

Councilwoman Madonna Flood District 24 Majority Leader

“I applaud the Mayor’s decision to resolve this litigation. I hope the officers of the Louisville Metro Police understand we are ready to work with them on all issues from budget to Public Safety.”

Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin, District 2 Caucus Vice-Chair

“I'm pleased this has been resolved on a bilateral basis. Any time we tap into our employees' paychecks it should be by mutual agreement pursuant to collective bargaining.”

Councilman Jim King, District 10 President Louisville Metro Council

“It is great to see that Mayor Fischer is actively improving negotiations with Metro Governments labor organizations. Working to improve the relationships with the Mayor’s Office and the police department is a very positive thing for the safety of our city.”

Councilman David James, District 6

“I support the effort to resolve this problem through negotiations and appreciate the leadership of the administration. I agree with the Mayor and others who are ready to move forward and keep our focus on cooperation in all areas of government and public safety.”

Councilman David Tandy, District 4

“I am pleased that we can do something that resolves this situation and improves morale for our police officers. I applaud the Mayor’s effort.”

Councilman David Yates, District 25

Madonna Flood (D) 24
Barbara Shanklin (D) 2