Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


Metro Newsroom

Community Affairs Committee to honor Outstanding Community leaders for Black History month

Tuesday February 23, 2010

For Immediate Release:
Louisville Metro Council
Contact: Tony Hyatt 574-4137/526-3622

On Thursday, February 25th the Community Affairs Committee will hold a special meeting to honor Outstanding Community leaders as part of the Metro Council’s 2010 Black History Month Program.

The meeting begins at 12:00pm in Council Chambers, 601 West Jefferson Street.

“Each year, it is our hope to give recognition to those who work to make our community better. Their actions show others how to lead by example,” says Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D) 2 Chair of the committee. “This year we have a very distinguished group of honorees.”

There will be two special honors given during the program along with honors for 23 individuals. Below is a list of the honorees of for the 2010 Black History Program:

Special Honorees

Ms. Wheelchair Kentucky Tyandriau Irving

African Americans in the Media

(With emphasis on anchors & reporters)


Renee Murphy, Adrianna Hopkins, Sherlene Shanklin


Dawne Gee & Shayla Reaves


Carissa Lawson, Ann Bowdan, Natasha Collins, Monica Hardin & Eric King


Stephan Johnson & Bill Alexander

District 1 – Norman Martin

District 2 – Earscine Mayberry

District 3 – Eula Frazier

District 4 – Dr. Daniel Withers

District 5 – Rudolph “Rudy” Davidson

District 6 – Walter Hutchins

District 7 – Erwin Roberts

District 8 – Dwayne Adams

District 9 – Gabriel Fritz

District 10 –Mattie Jones

District 12 – Dawne Gee

District 13 – Thornton Family

District 14 – Renee Loveless

District 15 – Tiffany N. Tatum

District 17 – Thomas Cork Sr.

District 18 – Beverly Truitt

District 19 – Dr. T. Vaughn Walker

District 20 – Jennifer Colley

District 21 – Sgt. Robert Brown

District 22 – Thomas Overall

District 24 – Ronnie R. Bowman

District 25 – William “Bill” Wilson

District 26 -- Chuck Martin