Office of Sustainability Newsroom

2010 Kilowatt Crackdown Awards Announced

Wednesday April 20, 2011

More than 165 participants completed competition to increase energy efficiency

Members of the Louisville Energy Alliance and the Environmental Protection Agency recognized the winners and participants in Louisville’s second annual Kilowatt Crackdown competition.

The competition challenged building owners and operators in Louisville to mark their energy use and strive to become more energy efficient, using the EPA’s ENERGY STAR resources, including Portfolio Manager and on-line benchmarking tools.

“I would like to congratulate each of this year’s award winners and thank each of the participants for their commitment,” said Chris Cieminski, Louisville Energy Alliance president. “Each award winner demonstrates a commitment to energy conservation and exhibits Energy Excellence.”

Participants began by recording their energy use from January through December 2009. That information was used as a guide for improved energy efficiency in the 2010 calendar year.

Judges reviewed the data to determine the winners of three categories: Greatest Improvement in Efficiency, Most Efficient Building, and the Kilowatt Cup.

The Kilowatt Cup recognizes superior achievement in energy management, overcoming unique obstacles and/or emphasizing energy efficiency through no-and-low-cost practices.

The 168 buildings that completed the contest saved over 22 million kilowatt hours (KWh) in 2010 as compared to their energy use in 2009, an increase of more than 17 million KWh from last year. That is the equivalent to more than 15,000 metric tons of carbon dioxide, which is equivalent to:

· The annual greenhouse gas emissions from nearly 3,000 passenger vehicles

· CO2 emissions from the electricity use of over 1,800 homes for one year

  • CO2 emissions from more than 1.7 million gallons of gas consumed

“Going green is important not only for a company’s bottom line, but also for our environment and our quality of life,” said Mayor Greg Fischer. “The whole community wins as property managers take steps to improve their performance. It takes one building at a time to make a difference.”

The Louisville Energy Alliance, a partnership between Metro Government and several major commercial building associations oversees the Kilowatt Crackdown. Representatives and resources from the EPA’s ENERGY STAR program also play a key role.

The 2010 Kilowatt Crackdown Award Winners:

Most Efficient Building


A.J. Schneider Co., The Crowne Plaza


Harbor Group, E.On U.S. Center


Kroger, Outerloop

School (K-12)

JCPS, Breckenridge Metro


Office Environment Company

Most Improved Building


Interstate Hotels & Resorts, Seelbach Hilton


Cassidy Turley, National City Tower


Kroger, Southland Terrace

School (K-12)

Crosby Middle School, JCPS


Eagle Paper

Kilowatt Cup Winner

Cassidy Turley, National City Tower

Please go to to register or to get more information on the 2011 Kilowatt Crackdown.