Map It

Map City Services

Enter an address:
(e.g., 410 S Fifth Street)


City Events Calendar

June 28- Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame
Louisville Palace
Start Date:
Friday, June 28, 2013
End Date:
Friday, June 28, 2013
Event Details:
Prominent members of the Hall of Fame include former University of Louisville coach Howard Schnellenberger, New York Giants quarterback and Morehead State University graduate Phil Simms, and the late Lenny Lyles, defensive back for the Baltimore Colts and San Francisco 49ers. Last year’s inductees were Mo Moorman, Dan Neal, Bubba Paris, Chris Redman and Rob Bironas. The organization’s selection committee has chosen inductees each year since 2003.

The official 2013 induction ceremony, the Game Day Spectacular, will take place on Friday, June 28 at the Louisville Palace. The two-day celebration will also include a golf scramble, ring ceremony and other activities for attendees in Louisville. Tickets for the ceremony will cost $25, $50 and $75 and will be available online at a soon to be announced date.

On the preceding day, Thursday, June 27,the Game Day Live Preview will occur at Fourth Street Live in downtown Louisville. Fans will have the opportunity to see football legends and Legendary football players and get a taste of Game Day Spectacular. The event at Fourth Street Live will be free and open to the public.

“This year we have created an exciting way for everyone to experience what the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame is all about,” said Frank Minnifield, Executive Director of the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame. “Game Day Live Preview will provide an eye-opening experience for the community and offer a glimpse of the Game Day Spectacular, when we officially induct these incredible players.”

The Kentucky Spinal Cord Injury Research Center at the University of Louisville was chosen as this year’s beneficiary. Over the years, numerous football players have sustained spine and brain injuries, making the choice of the organization a natural fit as well as a personal one, according to Minnifield.

"The Kentucky Spinal Cord Injury Research Center is honored to be the recipient of funds raised at this extraordinary Hall of Fame induction," said Dr. Scott R. Whittemore, scientific director for the center. "These resources will help to advance the science we work with every day that can make a marked difference in the quality of the lives of not only athletes, but people all over the world recovering from a spinal cord injury. We are thrilled to be a part of these events."

During the Game Day Spectacular induction ceremony, The Blanton Collier award will be presented to the Harbaugh Family - Jack Harbough, and his two sons, John and Jim Harbaugh. As coaches of this year’s Super Bowl match-up teams (San Francisco 49ers and the Baltimore Ravens), the two brothers are the first in history to be coaching opposing teams in the game taking place in New Orleans on Sunday, February 3. Jack Harbaugh played college football for the Bowling Green State University Falcons from 1957–1960, where he was a three-time letterman. In his junior year, the Falcons finished the season 9–0–0 and were named the small college division national champions. Harbaugh played for one year, 1961, in the old AFL for the Titans of New York. John Harbaugh is the head coach of the Baltimore Ravens. Previously, he coached the defensive backs for the Philadelphia Eagles and served as the Eagles special teams coach for nine years. Harbaugh and his younger brother, San Francisco 49ers coach Jim Harbaugh, are the first pair of brothers to serve as head coaches in NFL history.

This year, Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame member George McAfee will also be honored during the Game Day Spectacular induction ceremony. McAfee was born in Corbin, Kentucky and played college football at Duke University. He played running back for the Chicago Bears (1940-1941, 1945-1950). Nicknamed “One-Play McAfee” he was known for explosive speed. He passed away in 2009.

University of Louisville head football coach Charlie Strong and University of Kentucky head football coach Mark Stoops will both serve as co-chairs of this year’s event.

In addition, the 2012 All Commonwealth Collegiate Team was announced at the press conference, including Defensive Player of the Year Zack Autenrieb, and Offensive Players of the Year Teddy Bridgewater of the University of Louisville and Larry Warford of the University of Kentucky.
For Additional Information: