About the Code Enforcement Board

The Code Enforcement Board (CEB) is comprised of five members, three (3) regular members and two (2) alternate members. These members serve up to a three-year term and may be reappointed. Alternate members shall serve upon notification by a regular member that he/she is unable to attend a particular hearing date. A panel of two (2) members shall represent a quorum. Board members appointed by Mayor Jerry Abramson are Carrie Taylor-Anthony, Stephen Fein and Herb Fink, with alternates, Jonathan Hardy and William Herron.

The CEB will meet weekly on Fridays: morning session beginning at 10:00 am until 12:00 pm and an afternoon session beginning at 1:00 pm until complete. Your Hearing Notice will designate the time period for your appeal hearing. There will be a brief business session before cases are heard then again after the last case. Each appeal will be allotted up to a maximum of 20 minutes for presentation.

A vote will follow each case's hearing and an Order will be issued by the CEB stating the CEB's determination.

The hearings will be held at the Old Jail Building, 514 W. Liberty Street, Louisville, Kentucky 40202. If, because of an emergency situation, you are unable to appear for your scheduled hearing, contact the Administrative Staff as soon as possible, at 502-574-8164 if you receive voice mail, leave a message and your call will be returned. Your appeal may be rescheduled once within a fourteen (14) day period.